A Former Raider Seeing the Light

I used to raid…a lot. Four to five nights a week, three to five hours a night I was in that dungeon fighting the big, bad dragons and monsters. In Vanilla, BC, and half of Wrath it was this way. Many years of my life were spent in World of Warcraft raiding.

What about now? I am a casual. In Wrath, I was a founding member of a 10-man “hardcore” guild, but we only raided two nights a week. It was not that demanding. Before Patch 4.2 released, I decided to stop raiding because of other, real-life, responsibilities. I have not raided a thing since T11 content.

I went from one extreme to the other, and I’m happy that I’m just a casual now. I certainly cannot gripe about Blizzard basically handing out gear and Valor points when I am taking full advantage of the system.

All my hardcore friends say, “How can you play that still? It’s terrible. They ruined end-game.” All my casual friends say, “Eh… we just hang out and do whatever, raid sometimes.” I fit somewhere in between this.

While, Blizzard did change the end-game in an unfavorable way (in my personal opinion), I like the fact that I do not have to adhere to the hardcore schedule. I enjoy living my real-life now. Frankly, I am ashamed of how many hours, nights, and years I devoted to this game.

I can really say that I’m in a good place with the game right now. I’m living the casual lifestyle, while still treating end-game in my old, hardcore ways (just because I’m casual doesn’t mean I have to be bad too).

About Michelle

Currently, I’m working a 9-5 in a pathology lab where I’m practically the office manager. I say practically because the company I work for is very weird with their titles, but that’s another story for another day. The rest of my time is spent on blogging, social networks, going to the gym, reading, watching Star Trek, and playing games. I might go outside and socialize every now and again, too. I’m myself no matter what; I never put on a mask. This is something that I’m proud of, but it is also one of my greatest weaknesses.
This entry was posted in World of Warcraft and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Former Raider Seeing the Light

  1. joe says:

    Yes ive been there too. I no longer raid. I do do mans and what ever else I want to and enjoy what I do now. I spend a lot of time with my 4 year old son and enjoy that way more than I ever did taiding.

  2. I don’t play WOW, but I know what you mean. It’s nice to be able to enjoy a “hardcore” game even if you don’t have hours and hours to devote to it. 😉

  3. Ratshag says:

    I’s a big fan of more granularity in WoW, especiallies at endgame. Heroic raids fer them what wants the challenge, normal raids fer them what feels more casual, emblemflation and LFR fer them wants (or is only ables) fer ta bang around a bit. The Transmogalypse and holidays fer thems what finds those sort of things amusing. The new DMF fer altoholics levelin’ professions and mount collectors and pet collectors. Addin’ more choices don’t take nuthin’ away from nobody, long as you can find one what fits you.

Leave a Reply

